Who do you say you are?

On a recent vacation, I met a woman in a small roadside local artist gallery in a tourist town. She was the owner and greeted me when I came in. Her greeting quickly launched into a rehearsed speech about how no one supports local artists. Barely taking a breath, she filled the room with bitterness as she complained about her customers. The experience was so unpleasant I instantly wanted to leave. 

She continued her tirade by telling me how customers chat her up and waste her time because they don’t buy anything. I attempted to change the conversation and the negativity by commenting on how lovely the area was. She was not going to be swayed and proceeded to spew negativity. She launched into a story about how she is on a Board of Directors interviewing new parishioners for her church. She tells me that each time they interview, the rest of the Board gets mad at her because she always asks how the interviewee if they like shoveling snow. She tells me how she’s sick of the snow in this resort town and discourages others from moving here.

In five minutes this woman has told me that she doesn’t appreciate her customers, she is angry about her work, and that others get irritated with her negativity.

Her negativity was so all consuming that I couldn’t wait to get away from her. I proved her right, I was not going to support her establishment even if there were a few art pieces I liked. I wanted nothing that tied me to her negativity.

Think before you speak. What do your words say about who you are? Are you someone you would want to meet or buy from?

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

