Marketing doesn’t have to feel dirty

The word marketing conjures up some really negatives images for some people. Some of us just feel almost dirty doing it. It can rank up there with knocking door to door trying to sell steak knives. Truth is, your business won’t exist without marketing though. It is important to understand that marketing is just communicating what you are or what your product/service is about. It doesn’t have to feel uncomfortable or dirty.

With that, email marketing is one of the easiest marketing strategies out there. You’ve gotten email addresses from people who want to know what is going on. You can now feel safe that you are not harassing anyone. They WANT to be communicated to. You have put them into an email management system. Now what? Now what? Now it’s time to start communicating (a.k.a. marketing).

A newsletter is one of the easiest ways go to about this. Here’s a few simple rules to follow when creating a newsletter for your peeps.

1) Be genuine. Don’t be afraid to get a little personal. It is natural for people to want what feels safe and familiar. We often fear the new. You ARE your product/service. People want to know you. Better yet, they want to associate your product with you. Just be yourself!

2) Be consistent. This is probably the one I personally struggle with the most . I have an art newsletter that goes out once a month. I actually had to put it on my calendar so I always know when I need to get it out. Early on I would send it whenever I felt like it, and often months would go by. The open rate on my emails wasn’t very good because I wasn’t consistent. Don’t let people forget about you.

3) Choose catchy titles. We have all experienced that morning blast of emails where we scroll through deleting emails without bothering to read them. When I began sending out newsletters a few years ago, I made the huge mistake of putting “January 2013 Museletter” in the subject line. There is nothing about that subject name that makes me want to open the email. I finally started getting creative with my titles. After appearing on a television show doing live painting I sent out a newsletter with the subject, “I’m a TV Star”. My open rate doubled. I peeked people’s curiosity. When you are thinking of a subject line for your newsletter, consider whether it is something you would want to read.

4) Talk about what you’re doing. People have signed up for your newsletter because they are interested in what you do. Keep them up on what is happening. Tell them about what you’re working on, what is motivating you, what shows you are doing, or a product/service you are working on. Let your people in on your process.

If you would like to sign up for weekly emails of inspiration, art business, and tips on living authentically, sign up here!

20130829-110304.jpg

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Art Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marketing doesn’t have to feel dirty

Leave a Reply

