Why you should have a Facebook Fan Page for your Art

This past week I did an art show with a group of other artists. At the exhibition, I met another artist and we discussed his work. I was excited about it and was excited to see what he was doing. I asked if he had any upcoming shows and he said, “Yes, I’m working on getting those together now”. Great! I asked to be added to his mailing list so I could keep in the loop. Oh, no mailing list. Fail. He did have a business card and said I could email him. Fail.

I asked if he had a Facebook page. Of course his answer was no. Fail. Here’s why I asked for a Facebook page instead of his website. He just had his past work on his website. I want to see what he’s doing. I want to be invited to the upcoming shows. I want to know about his progress. I’m not the only one. People buying your art want to know your story. They want to keep in the loop. The one place to stay in front of people is with a Facebook Fan Page.

I know there is a lot of options for social media out there, but I am personally a big fan of Facebook. Let me give you a few of the reasons:

  1. There are currently 845 million active users. That’s a lot!!
  2. Facebook is now 1 out of every 5 page views on the internet.
  3. Over 50% of the population in North America uses Facebook.
  4. Facebook Pages has built-in analytics. That means I can see what efforts I’m doing on facebook for promoting my art are working and which ones aren’t.
  5. Facebook allows the installation of Apps. You can use them to collect email addresses and run contests.
  6. You’re able to integrate it into almost every website or social media network.
  7. Branding: People love connections. They love to know the why and the how. Facebook allows you to give this to collectors/potential buyers.
  8. Increased traffic through Google search engine. Facebook pages use keywords to be searchable through Google.

I think I explained it best to someone this week when I told them that Facebook Pages offers people an opportunity to look through a “window” of your business. They get to peek in and see what you’re doing, what you’re working on, who you are, and what you’re selling. If you’d like to see a window into my art business, you can see it here: https://www.facebook.com/strokeofredstudio

I will be writing a lot more on this topic and what makes a good Facebook Page in the near future. For now, I’ll leave you with a short explanation of a few other social medias. Don’t get overwhelmed. I don’t use all of these and neither should you. The idea is to spend your efforts on one or two that you are the most comfortable with. More to come on that.

  • Facebook: tends to be an older audience but with all kinds of interests.  The cool thing about Facebook is that when you post something and someone likes it, your post then goes into their newsfeed.  You get to be in front of people you don’t even know.
  • Twitter: great for searching and finding people talking about you’re the same types of business you do. To be really involved, it’s important to be part of conversations.
  • Google+: is still catching on. It tends to be more specific. Specific conversations about specific topics (I will admit I know the least amount about this one).
  • Pinterest: is made up of pictures. It is great if your business is visual. It’s audience is made up primarily of female generation X’ers.
  • Instagram: is made of pictures or videos. It’s audience tends to be younger, ages 18-34 and more technologically advanced.  Another great avenue if you’re business is visually based.
  • Vine: Content is 6 second videos. You can share it on other social medias like Facebook and Twitter. The audience tends to be a lot younger. Image
About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Art Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

