Adventure Challenge – Day 14: Pillsbury Crossing

Today was an exciting adventure day for me. I am in Manhattan, KS. I spent my early 20’s here and have so many amazing memories. For those who think Kansas is flat and ugly, you obviously haven’t been here. Home of the Flint Hills. Home of the Kanza Prairie (largest unmarred prairie in the U.S.). It’s beautiful here.

When I spent a lot of time here years ago one of my favorite places was Pillsbury Crossing. It’s in the country and not easy to find. It’s where Deer Creek runs across bedrock creating waterfalls. We use to come out and set lawn chairs in the water and soak our feet and have a cool beverage during the summers. I loved this place.

Today I decided to try to find it again. It was 10 years ago and I’m not sure a lot of the time I was sober in getting here. I turned down a gravel road and did my best to remember how to get there. And I found it. Unfortunately I didn’t have it to myself. I really didn’t expect to. It’s such a cool place. I pulled up and sure enough, someone was playing frisbee with their dog. Early 20 somethings were throwing a football around. A few girls in bikinis were sun bathing. It made me smile to be back, to get my feet wet, and to feel the sunshine on my face. So many good memories here….

*Excerpt – I got really excited about the new shoes I purchased today and cut in the video to let you know it! I went to the store with the soul purpose of getting shoes I could wear into the water. I took the $45.00 shoes to the counter and they run up for $5. Turns out they were the only pair left and were on clearance. Score!

 

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

