Adventure Challenge – Day 17: Photo hunt

I got back to my home city late and was driving home. I opened the moonroof and it was just gorgeous outside. The weather was perfect in the 70’s. The air was crisp. The moon was heavy and full in the sky. I decided I had to find a place to take a picture of it. 

The World War II Liberty Memorial in Kansas City has an amazing view. I drove straight there. When I got there I was disappointed to see that all of the entrances were blocked off with gates. I remembered once going late at night and finding an employee entrance. I looked for it. It too was blocked. Then, a few yards away I found another entrance that wasn’t blocked. I decided to take it. I started driving slowly up the narrow winding path. When I looked up and realized that the Memorial was directly to my right and right above me, I was not on a road at all, but a large sidewalk. I saw 4 wheelers with red and blue lights come up the path. I knew I had taken a wrong turn. I quickly turned the car around and made my way back down the path on to the road. Luckily the 4-wheeling security guards didn’t decide to persue. 

Determined, I parked my car by the front gate and walked in. The moon was so brilliantly bright it lit up the night sky. It was almost like the air had an energy of its own. I got to the top of the memorial lookout and it was brilliant. It over looks Union Station and downtown. I got some great pictures, but was disappointed that it was the wrong way to get the full moon in the picture. I did however, capture a shooting star! As I watched the city move below, I watched a fountain in front of Union Station dance. I decided I would photograph that with the moon behind it. 

I made my way to the parking lot in Union Station and caught great pictures just before the fountain quit at 11 p.m. 

Charged with the energy of the night I decided to stop one more place before heading home for the night. I drove to the Kauffman Performing Arts Center. The glass and steel front does an amazing job of reflecting the city lights at night. I got the shot I wanted and went home with the weight of the past 10 weeks on me. I was exhausted. 

It was the full moon that encouraged my adventure challenge today. It was so magnificent I couldn’t keep from taking a picture, even if it was just from my phone. It led me to many beautiful locations, seeing a falling star, and driving down a sidewalk. 

 

Image

Image

Image

 

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

