Adventure Challenge – Day 34: Finding Trails in Charlotte

My work brought me to Charlotte, NC today. I instantly started trying to find adventures to fill my week. I went to the grocery store to get food for the week and saw a running store next door. A friend has been telling me about a running shoe so I thought I’d stop in and see if they have them. They didn’t, however I do realize I have an addiction to trail running shoes. Since I bought my first pair (the first day of my adventure challenge) I’ve lost 8 lbs. I feel terrific and can’t wait until I can explore another trail. I did end up leaving with a new pair if trail runners. I decided I had to find a trail to break them in on.

The running store gave me a list of local trails. They pointed out the Reedy Creek Trail, but the Mallard Creek Parkway had great reviews on Yelp and was closer. I decided to go to Mallard Creek. I parked at the Rec Center and went in search for the trail. I found a small trail (mostly a mowed path into the woods). I followed it along a creek for about 1/2 a mile before it ended. I turned and walked back. I asked for directions and was told the trail was completely somewhere else. I decided to go to the Reedy Creek Park.

Reedy Creek is a nature preserve and absolutely beautiful. Lots of trails through the woods, ponds, and scenery. I loved it there so much I may go back this week if I have the time.

20140707-214832-78512690.jpg

20140707-214831-78511500.jpg

20140707-214832-78512317.jpg

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

