Adventure Challenge – Day 36: Putting Out Positive Energy

I had a crappy day and to be honest, it made me pretty pissy. I’m in Charlotte, NC working this week and I had the best adventure planned for today. It might be one of my best yet. Then my work schedule got changed around on me. I know this can happen, but today it just rubbed me wrong. I was so excited. I tried to hold out hope for as long as I could.

Then I quickly changed my plans. As soon as I got off work, a storm moved in ruining those plans, too. Add insult to injury, I get to leave for a job at 6 a.m., which means I’m getting up before dark.

Completely exasperated and irritated I got on the treadmill to burn off some of the extra energy that wasn’t so positive. I decided to take a book I recently bought in the airport called “The Happiness Project”. I will probably write an entire blog just about this book, but I can say it is very timely.

One of the things that resonated with me today is friendships. I’ve recently been dealing with a friendship I’m not sure how to move forward with. There’s so much negativity and it feels very one sided. I have been debating on whether I should cut ties and wondering why I feel guilt about doing so. Then, I read today, “Of all the things that wisdom provides for living one’s entire life in happiness, the greatest by far is the possession of friendship”. After a little pondering while trying to keep from tripping on the treadmill, I decided I will cut the negative friendships out and spend that energy on enhancing the amazing friendships I have that bring me so much happiness.

Tonight, I will be putting positive energy out into the universe. I’ll send encouraging words, check in, and just reconnect.

 

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

