Adventure Challenge: Day 48, 49, 50, 51

I got so busy on vacation I didn’t have time to write the daily adventure challenges, so I’m playing catch up. I really enjoyed this vacation and my kiddo and I both needed it. I have been so busy working that it was great to get some bonding time and see family.

Day 48: I woke early morning to find breakfast and coffee waiting for me from my boyfriend. It has to be one of the best ways to wake up. It was the last day he was going to be on this trip. I found a great little marina side hotel super cheap and we lay in the hammock next to the water the night before.

I have been trying to get him to go kayaking (I am in the process of looking to buy one). He has never been and he sincerely doesn’t float so water tends to make him a little nervous. Our hotel had the free use of kayaks in the marina, so we took them out before it got too hot. We both ended up really loving it and it was so relaxing being on the water. Challenge presented and accepted!

photo 1 (2)

Day 49: My son has been obsessed with pirates for years. We have had several parties at my house where everyone dresses as a pirate and we have an entire chest of pirate treasures. A pirate cruise was in order while we were in Florida. It was through the Pieces of Eight Pirate Cruise. The ship was decorated to look like a pirate ship and it had a cast of characters including a pirate and his crew. There was a script that was followed, but a lot of interaction with the kids, face painting, dancing, and games. This all happened as we sailed in the open water. My son absolutely loved it and we learned some new pirate talk. Arrrr…..

photo 2 (3)

Day 50: Our last night in Florida was spent with a relative. She works for a resort off of Sanibel Island and made arrangements for us to take a sunset and dolphin cruise. We took off right before sunset and went out past the island of Captiva. It was absolutely beautiful in the water and we got several viewings of dolphins playing. Its the first time I’ve seen a dolphin out in the open and it was very exciting for me.

photo 4

photo 3 (1)

Day 51: Flying home proved to be a bit of a challenge. I think flying with any child is a challenge. Add one that is curious about everyone, doesn’t know a stranger, and has a broken arm and we have a full fledge adventure on our hands. He was amazing. He talked to everyone which sometimes was a little too time consuming. He got wings to pin on shirt on the plane, and stickers, chips, and a picture of a B2 Bomber from strangers in the airport. I am fortunate I have such an adorable and outgoing child. He makes the journey of my life so much more interesting.

photo 5

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

