Adventure Challenge – Day 62: Anastacia and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

One of my favorite children books is “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”. My son and I read this book together. It’s about a little boys very bad day, but most of it is because he anticipates that it’s going to be bad and looks for all of the bad. I often remind my son of this book when his attitude gets negative. 

Today was one of those days for me. It was horrific.  My attitude has been complete crap all day; it’s been one bad thing after another. In fact, my entire attitude as of lately sucks. I have been dealing with a coworker for several weeks that makes me cringe every time he comes near me. There is so much hate in the world; sadness from Robin Williams suicide, racial discrimination, and violence are on everyones mind. I can’t seem to get away from it. As an empath, I can’t get the pictures of it all on social media out of my mind. I think most people can move on, but it haunts my dreams and unconscious thoughts. Today it felt like it came to a head for me. And as I hit the end of the day, I realize that my attitude isn’t helping matters. So I’m going to share the negative day that I experienced. Then I’m going to share the positive it could have been if I would have just changed my perspective. 

My Crappy Day

 It started last night at 10:30 p.m. when American Airlines called with an automated message saying that they cancelled my early morning flight and booked me on a flight 9 1/2 hours later (even though they have a flight going out every hour to Dallas). I tried to call customer service but they gave me another automated message saying they would call me back. I finally went to bed and still no call. I decided it was too late to deal with it and put my phone on silent. 

I was woken up at 1:30 a.m. by my phone vibrating. I turned it off. It went off several more times waking me up and my significant other up. This resulted in frustrated snappy words for me to turn my phone off.  I had trouble sleeping because I was mad. 

I woke up and decided to go to the DMV. I’ve been gone so much during the week I haven’t been able to get my car registered. I was attempting to make the most of it. I went to the DMV and there was a 2 1/2 hour wait. I checked in and went to the Post Office where I stood in yet another line. While there I get another automated call from American Airlines saying they also cancelled my later flight. 

Once back at the DMV I called American Airlines again, and again couldn’t get a hold of a real person. They said they’d call me back. I waited in my hot car until they finally called. I spent 20 minutes on the phone demanding to get a flight. Just as I’m told my flight is booked, the customer service rep tells me that they tickets just got picked up by someone else. Eventually she books me on a flight for 3 hours later, and tells me I will get confirmation via email in about 3 hours. This makes no sense to me. I try to write all the info down but the only pen I have in the car leaks all over my hands. 

I go inside the DMV because it’s hot. I wait among all of the grouchy people also waiting. Finally I get called up and then am asked to find the electronic copy of my insurance because the printer cut off of the expiration date on my proof of insurance. My phone just erased all of my photos for no apparent reason. 

After dealing with that fiasco I decided I had enough time to get a manicure because my nails are wrecked from all of the studio time over the weekend. I have to wait and when the guy finally comes, he wreaks of cigarette smoke and nags me about how bad my cuticles look. 

I go to the airport skeptical that my flight will actually go. I end up in line behind all of the people who apparently aren’t aware they need to take off their shoes and seem clueless about having to take laptops out of your bag. I wait barefoot and impatient. Frustrated, I decide that coffee and chocolate might help raise my spirit. I wolf down the cupcake while getting bumped into. I find a seat, where I promptly dump my coffee all over my backpack. 

My plane is delayed 30 minutes but it does take off. When I land I go to Thrifty to get my rental car. They tell me they gave my rental car away. I have to literally throw a fit in order to get a car. The customer service rep goes from telling me he had no cars available to finding me a car because it’s already paid for by my company. 

Exasperated I put the address for my hotel in my GPS and hope for a better rest of the day. The address takes me to the middle of a field. I use a different GPS app from my phone and it takes me to an intersection with no buildings. I finally spot my hotel about 1/2 a mile away. Once I arrive at the hotel I park in the only parking spot free, which happens to be in a giant puddle. When I try to check in, the entire lobby is under construction and there are hand written signs saying don’t step or touch anything. I finally figure out how to check in and go to my room. I notice small little black bugs that jump like fleas all over my bed. I get a call from my credit card company that I hit my limit. I pull up my account online and the hotel just charged me $420 in incidental fees. 

Starving, I find a sushi place on Yelp and head to find it. Once again GPS fails me. I call it quits. 

My Day with Better Perspective

My plan was to get up at 5 a.m. to make it to the airport in time for my early morning flight. I got a phone call late from American Airlines telling me that my flight had been cancelled and I was put onto a much later flight. I could go to sleep knowing I didn’t have to get up early. 

I didn’t sleep well because of American Airlines trying to call me back in the middle of the night. I put my phone on airplane mode and slept like a baby. I actually slept in. It was nice waking up and the house was peaceful (everyone had already left for the day). I had already laid my clothes out so I got dressed and decided to take this delay as an opportunity. I travel for work so much I haven’t been able to get my car registered. I went to Starbucks and got my favorite iced latte and cheese danish. I drove to the DMV and checked in. I was told that the wait was 2 1/2 hours, but they took my phone # and sent me periodic updates on my wait. I was able to mail several items that have piled up since I haven’t been able to get to the post office. I ran into an old friend at the post office and we had a nice conversation. 

I returned to the DMV and called American Airlines. They called me back in about 11 minutes. They got me onto a flight 3 hours away. Once my call with American Airlines was over I had almost no wait left. I got my car registered very quickly. I needed a copy of my insurance, and even though my phone deleted the photos where I had it stored, I was able to pull it up from Google Drive where I also had it stored. 

My nails were wrecked so I decided to get a quick manicure. The guy massaged my hands until all of the ink that leaked on them earlier came off. Then it ended up being half of what I thought it would cost. I felt lucky to be able to get it done. My hands looked great. 

I grabbed my bags and headed to the airport. I had a great conversation with the bus driver who was excited she was getting off to work soon. I made it through security without any snafus and decided I should treat myself with chocolate and coffee. The chocolate cupcake was decadent and amazing. I found a seat and settled in. I kicked my coffee over and it went all over my backpack. Luckily it didn’t spill on anyone else. 

Once on the plane I got a window seat. I tried to read but as soon as the  plane started I felt drowsy. I laid my head against the window and fell asleep. My plane was supposed to take off at 3:20. At 3:45 I woke up and was irritated because we hadn’t taken off. I looked out the window and realized we had indeed taken off and I slept right through it. Because I spilled my coffee I had no major need to go to the bathroom and spent the rest of the trip sleeping. 

When I got to the rental car place, they told me they didn’t have any cars. After some words and realizing the car was already paid for, they found a car for me. It’s a nice car. When I got to my hotel, the front desk was very friendly. I got in my room and found little black bugs on my bed. My first reaction was to freak out. I tore my bed apart but found them no where else. I got a call from my credit card saying I hit my limit. When I looked it up, the hotel had charged me $420 for incidentals. I went to the front desk and he apologized and released the hold. 

I found a sushi place on Yelp that wasn’t too far away. The food was phenomenal and I indulged in a martini which was phenomenal. My waiter was super friendly and it gave me some time to reflect on  my day and my attitude. As I walked out the restaurant to return to my hotel, I saw one of the prettiest sunsets I’ve seen in some time. I just stopped and looked at it for awhile. 

photo 2 (6)photo 1 (5)

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

