Adventure Challenge – Day 68: Making Everything Beautiful

I have really struggled emotionally and mentally the past few days. I haven’t felt well physically and I’m wore out and tired from all of the travel. The idea of having to go work in Phoenix in the sun all week is just daunting. 

I woke up the morning I had to fly to Phoenix in the worst of moods. I just felt like my head was in a dark cloud. Nothing I did seemed to help. I started my day running my kiddo to school and fighting back tears all morning that I wouldn’t see him for 5 more days. I tried to drink my coffee on the back deck watching nature but that didn’t help either.

I wanted desperately to just crawl back into the bed. I didn’t want to deal with the world at all. No matter what I did I couldn’t shake the feeling. I decided there was nothing I could do and had to push through my day.

I packed with frustration. I fought back the urge to just go back to bed. I made it to the airport without delay and decided I needed chocolate. I found a double chocolate muffin and ate it.

When I boarded the plane I found a window seat. There was an announcement that the flight was completely full and there would be no open seats. When the doors closed and we got ready to take off, the woman in the aisle and I looked at each other in disbelief; the only seat on the plane empty was the one between us. I took out my sketchbook and wrote a quote that has been going through my head for a few days:

 984171_741539052569882_5767178898139552727_n

I saw this quote a few days ago and decided I need it to be my new mission statement. After I wrote it down, I stretched out and fell asleep. I slept for 4 hours.

When my plane arrived in Las Vegas, my black cloud seemed to have lightened a little. I had no problem getting onto my connecting flight. I even managed to find a book I wanted to read.

Once on the plane I was quickly disappointed. A couple with a 9 month old baby sat next to me. I could see four little teeth starting to peek through pink gums. I groaned to myself. Then I decided I needed to have a little empathy. I looked at the parents and they were exhausted. The baby was happy and full of energy. I spent the next hour on the flight entertaining the baby so the parents could get some rest. We tickled, giggled, looked at clouds, and played with toys. The parents were incredibly grateful.

I made it to my hotel and found that it was a full suite with a kitchen. I went to the store and bought healthy foods for the week. I made crab lakes and an avocado salad and blueberries for dinner. I watched a breathtaking sunset. 

I chose to look at things today as if they were beautiful. I don’t know when the shift happened, but I’m grateful for it. It started out horrible. I’m actually glad I left the house today.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

