Adventure Challenge – Day 72: Setting A Goal

So now that I made a commitment for a race in 12 weeks I need t figure out some sort of plan. I basically have 12 weeks to figure out how to run 6.2 miles. I can hike that pretty easy, but running is a different story. I have never liked to run. However, running a trail is different. I’m so busy thinking about where I’m going to step next I don’t have time to think about how much I hate running. It keeps me grounded and in the moment. My favorite part, I’m in nature. 

So I have a pretty good idea how fast I run a mile (not impressive). I have no idea how fast I run a mile on a trail with rocks, creek, and elevation. I picked a trail I’m sort of familiar with this morning and set out to figure it out. I use an app on my phone that tracks my distance, time, and elevation. 

I had planned to go out early but got totally distracted. I didn’t hit the trail until noon, which I’m afraid was already too warm. It was 85 degrees with humidity in the 50’s. I set out to do a combination of running and walking. I will try to add 1/2 a mile a week (starting at 2). I ran 2 miles in 30 minutes. This included a creek jump, elevation  gain of 200 ft, and one fall that left me a little gimpy the last mile. Luckily I didn’t lose much skin and didn’t do any real damage. I was able to get up and keep going. An average of 15 minutes a mile is not impressive, but hey, I ran/walked 2 miles!! 

10610776_10203562696161133_6765041306482684363_n

So there it is…a starting place. I now know where I’m at and what I have to improve on. And the lesson for today is, you still have to pick your feet up when you’e tired. 

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

