Adventure Challenge – Day 78: Strangers who become friends

I flew into San Francisco this week. I had one short meeting and then had the rest of the day to explore. I’m actually staying in Berkeley. I’ve never been to Berkeley so it’s a fun experience. Famished after a day of traveling I decided to try the local brewery, Pyramid Ale House.

I had planned to just get food but ended up with a beer as well. I ordered their grilled cheese sandwich. It’s by far THE best grilled cheese I have ever had. Brie, bacon jam, havarti, and pears. I washed it all down by a recommendation of a Pale Ale Nitro. It’s brewed with nitrogen which makes it super smooth and almost creamy.

photo (27)

My waitress was a super friendly goth girl; tattooed sleeves, severely cut bangs, lots of black eyeliner, and black fingernails. We struck up a conversation and when she got off of work she sat down with me and had a beer. From the exterior you would think we had absolutely nothing in common. We shared stories of travel and passions. She use to sing opera and is trying to retrain her voice so she can do music theatre again. She ended up giving me her phone number and offered to show me the city. Inviting me to a death metal concert (which I wasn’t sure I was up for) and thrift store shopping and a show at the local theatre.

After she left I struck up a conversation with a guy sitting nearby. Our conversation started about my grilled cheese sandwich. Turns how he is the brewer and the bartender at the Ale House. We talked about him growing up in San Francisco and the jobs he’s had. He invited me back to do a sample tasting later in the week.

My entire week has been like this. Just letting people talk, meeting people. People are not their exterior. They are not whatever title we may know them as. One of the office guys I have worked with for some time now started talking about how he was signed to a major record label when he was 21. After much deliberation he backed out because he felt like he was losing control over his own life.

Everyone has a story. We are all connected. I have met strangers on planes and in other countries that we discover we’re connected to them by someone else after some conversation. If we take the time to put aside our external differences, we all have a lot in common. I will make an effort to spend more time talking to strangers.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

