Adventure Challenge: Quality Time

I’m sure like most parents, I have a lot of guilt for the time I have to spend away from my child due to work. My schedule is slowing and I am so happy to be home with him a little more. This past weekend I got good quality time just reconnecting with him and doing some of our favorite things.

We woke with a tickle fight and then worked on making some snail mail love together. We have a list of pen pals that he writes and they send cards and snail mail love back.

photo 4photo 3

Then I promised him a waterfall. I absolutely love hiking and fortunately I didn’t have to work too hard to convince him to come along. We went to the Nature Sanctuary where we raced through the woods along the trail to the waterfall. We climbed to the top and then scrambled back down. Towards the bottom we had a picnic and then ditched the shoes. We got our feet wait and splashed. And then I just sat back and watched him. He is so perfectly himself. His pant legs rolled up, but they were still sagging from the water he got on himself. He laughed, floated leaves, splashed, and ran around.

photo 5photo 1

When we left the waterfall we went by my art studio to drop off a few paintings. I didn’t realize there was Halloween fun going on at the gallery that my studio is inside of. He decorated a cupcake (which he promptly ate), painted a pumpkin, and got his face painted (as Spiderman of course).

Then we went home to get ready for a Halloween outing. Being with him is like getting to live a second childhood. I remember a lot of stress and worry from my childhood. Getting to be with him through his makes me smile and creates fond memories of holidays and monumental moments of childhood. He dressed like a ninja and we joined friends at Deanna Rose Farmstead. It is essentially a petting zoo. There big fundraiser this year was a Halloween themed night. Our friend did a science show, creating a chemical reaction inside a pumpkin, making the pumpkin look as if it were vomiting. We made s’mores, collected candy, and took a haunted hay ride.

It was a great day of being able to create new memories together. He promptly fell asleep in the car on the drive home. I knew that I had accomplished my goal: wearing out my 6-year old with an abundance of quality time spent together.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Adventure Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

