Self Care

As I promised myself, I have been taking it easy. Due to the extreme cold temperatures, school has been cancelled quite a bit so I’ve had my son home which forces me to slow down regardless. It’s been nice because we’ve cuddled, read books, and watched movies together.

It’s been eye opening to see how much is still getting done even though I’m putting half of the effort forth that I normally do. I am making sure I’m getting enough rest. My attitude has improved tremendously. I’ve tried to start putting some things in perspective. I don’t need to do everything at once. I can take a lot of baby steps without trying to overwhelm myself.

This week I took a French class. It is on my bucket list of things to do. It makes my brain hurt and challenges me for sure. It’s cool though because when I’m studying my son starts responding to me (he’s fluent due to his French immersion school). I will now attend a once a week immersion class to become fluent.

In addition, I’ve been catching up on all of the podcasts and articles that I have put aside until “I have time”. These things always pile up on me and then I get overwhelmed because I never do have the time.

I’ve booked 3 art shows this year without even trying. Busting my butt from this past year has paid off and and as a result, people are contacting me to hang.

I have also set up a creative space in my office. Complete with my office, filing, and studio space. Even though I have a studio outside of the house, it’s nice to be able to create when I have an idea instead of waiting until I can get to the studio. It’s also nice to wake up and make coffee and head to my computer to answer emails and do a little marketing in the morning to start my day off.

I think it will become my goal to figure out how to do things in smaller steps and try to overwhelm myself less. That will be quite an adventure for this year.

Here’s to more adventuring!

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Self Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

