Making the Ordinary Extraordinary

Last year I did a 100 day adventure challenge. I was traveling for work a lot and it was starting to feel like the movie Groundhog Day. I decided I had to find some adventure every day to break up the routine.

This year, I have made an attempt to travel less. It’s hard on my family and makes return to “ordinary” life in small spurts quite difficult. What I’m finding though, is that ordinary life is even harder for me. I’m not really an “ordinary life” kind of girl. I didn’t day dream about wedding dresses or play house as a kid. I read maps and books. I wanted to know everything. I wanted to travel and be an astronaut. Instead, I began traveling the world and racing cars and became an artist.11027927_10205962468593944_2858724802591038074_n

Even though I have a life that resembles an ordinary life, I find it incredibly difficult. I don’t do well with routine. I know myself well enough to know that I need something to look forward to. If I’m not working towards something, I start to get stir crazy and very low. I’ve been struggling with this a lot. It’s not that I’m unhappy. I have no reason to be unhappy. I have a great life. I try to find joy in all the little things. I’m so grateful for every single person in my life. However, my life is enriched by experiences.

So, I’ve decided to start making the ordinary extraordinary. It doesn’t have to be grand or cost a lot of money. I just need something to break up my days. To make the present day stand out from the others. I’ll start with 30 days. Wanna join? Come along and find some adventures with me. Leave me your adventure in the comments. Maybe it’ll give me some ideas!

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Making the Ordinary Extraordinary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making the Ordinary Extraordinary

  1. erinksexton says:

    Find your closest national park or forest preserve and practice yoga in the sun! You don’t even need to be able to balance, just breathing the sunshine in to yourself will change your day!

Leave a Reply

