Surviving Legoland with 3 Children

Because I am such an experience focused person I try to give my child experiences instead of things whenever possible. For his birthday, I told him he could take on person to Legoland (his favorite place on earth). He chose his cousin.

Again, this is a special occasion so it isn’t much of a reach for me as far as an adventure goes. However, let me explain one thing. I’m not crazy about children. I like my own. I even like my nieces. But, I’m not the woman that children run up to and hugs. Chuck E. Cheese seems like hell on earth to me. Not only is full of hyper screaming children running everywhere, but every possible light and noise have been thrown in. This puts me (who happens to be an empath and super sensitive to my surroundings) in near fetal position in the corner rocking myself. 11825228_10205982601377251_2056712681800563509_n

My Legoland adventure grew to taking both of my nieces (ages 6 and 2) and my son in the car. That means 3 car seats. I have some serious respect for mothers with more than one child. I found myself yelling things like “stop touching each other” and “we are in an enclosed space, no one needs to scream”. I heard my mother coming right out of my mouth. The real adventure started when we got to Legoland and stood in line for an hour because the computers shut down. I’m not the most patient person in the world, which is something I have in common with the children. I was starting to wonder who would melt down first, me or the children.

We finally made it in with no casualties, but apparently it was “everyone in the city should bring your child” day. I have been several times. After all, this is my sons favorite place on earth. I couldn’t take a step without tripping over a child. The real adventure was trying to keep track of 3 children in a world of chaos. I was quite happy with myself when I managed to return home with all 3 in tow thoroughly wore out. No child lost, none broken, and I didn’t have to find a corner to hide in. I survived this adventure!!

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Making the Ordinary Extraordinary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surviving Legoland with 3 Children

  1. mom1978 says:

    We have been talking of going to legoland!! With a 6 and 3 yr old…thinking it would be fun.

    • strokeofred says:

      It is fun! I would recommend buying your tickets online before hand. It will ensure they don’t sell out and you can avoid the lines! It’s great fun for all ages!

Leave a Reply

