Taking a Mom Vacation

Part of doing this adventure challenge is because I feel a little lost in my own life; like I’m going through the motions. I’ve been so busy doing for everyone else I have sort of lost myself along the way.

I decided I needed to remedy that. I had an entire day to do nothing. I fought the guilt that I think probably  most mothers struggle with at some point. I went to my art studio, cranked the music, took chocolates, trail running magazines, my computer, and kicked off my shoes. I caught up on some of my magazine reading. I painted until I wanted a break. I ate dark chocolate covered sea salted caramels, and just relished in being able to do nothing for anyone.

This Mom Vacation wasn’t long, but it was enough. I instantly woke the next day feeling like I found a little part of myself again. I wore a smile and felt like I recognized myself again. I looked forward to what the day had to offer.

It changed my perspective so much that I decided I need more “me” time. This should be a lot easier to accomplish now that my son has started back to school. Let the fun begin!

11231269_10206011444898321_3666848421839474236_n

About Anastacia Drake - Fine Artist

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Making the Ordinary Extraordinary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking a Mom Vacation

  1. Stephanie says:

    I completely understand what you’re talking about. Over the last 3 years, I think I’ve had three days to myself. That alone is enough to make a woman go a little batty!! My oldest just started Preschool, so I’m down to one at home–which is practically like a vacation!! Ha! 🙂

    • strokeofred says:

      Let me know what you do!! Sometimes just a quiet bath and a good book are a luxury!!

      • Stephanie says:

        When I do get a day to myself, I usually go bargain shopping. I’ll spend hours digging through racks(clothes, usually) to find some great deals–I’ve always enjoyed doing that and NEVER get to do it anymore with two impatient toddlers with me all the time. HAHA! It’s nice therapy, though!!

        If I’m not doing that, then I’m at home enjoying the peace and quiet with no responsibilities.

        If only those days happened more often…. 😉

Leave a comment